Position: HOME > ABOUT


Wuhan University's School of Philosophy is comprised of the Departments of Philosophy, Religious Studies, and Psychology. The Philosophy Department was founded in 1922, and was merged into the Philosophy Department of the Peking University in 1952, and was re-established in 1956 by Li Da, who was a former president of Wuhan University (1952-1966), a distinguished Marxist philosopher, and a founding member of the Chinese Communist Party.

Currently it has forty-nine faculty members whose fields of interest cover almost all the major branches of philosophy. The Department of Religious Studies was established in 1996, and it has seven faculty members whose areas of research include Christian theology (especially medieval philosophy), Buddhism, and Daoism. The Department of Psychology is the youngest member of the School. It was founded in 2005, but it can trace its origin to the the Department of Philosophy in the 1930’s when courses in psychology were offered by a faculty member, Cheng Naiyi, who did his graduate studies in psychology at Columbia University and received his Ph.D degree in Psychology from the University of Chicago. There are seventeen faculty members in the Department of Psychology. In addition to these three departments, the College of Chinese Classics is also administered by the School of Philosophy and its core faculty members are affiliated with the School.


The scholarly reputation of Wuhan philosophy faculty is recognized nationally and internationally. In terms of administrative classification, faculty members in the Department of Philosophy are grouped into seven divisions: Chinese philosophy, Western philosophy, Marxist philosophy, aesthetics, ethics, philosophy of science and technology, and logic. The Division of Chinese Philosophy is renowned for its strengths in Neo-Confucianism, philosophy of the Ming-Qing period(15th to19th centuries), and Bamboo and Silk Manuscripts. The Division of Western Philosophy is recognized in areas such as history of Western philosophy (especially German idealism), analytical philosophy, and philosophy of culture. The Division of Marxist Philosophy is a top research group in China in the areas of Chinese transformation of Marxist and contemporary Western Marxism. The aesthetics faculty has established their reputation in the history of Chinese aesthetics and environmental aesthetics. In the past decades, the Department of Philosophy is also well known for producing leading scholars in the fields of comparative philosophy, phenomenology, political philosophy, and symbolic logic.


Cultural psychology has become the direction of the development of the Psychology Department. The Religious Studies Department is the center in China for the Chinese translation of and research on Thomas Aquinas’s main works. Part of the Chinese translations of the Summa Theologica has been recently published.


Members of the School of Philosophy edit four well-known journals: Wuda Philosophical Review, Marxist Philosophical Studies, Comparative Philosophy and Culture, and Confucian Culture.